The North Wing of the South Australian Museum is home to a set of stained glass windows that were installed in 1893. The windows were made in South Australia in 1880 at the Waymouth Street studio of artists, Montgomery and Grimbly. The windows were specially commissioned by the South Australian government for the new wing of the museum, which officially opened in 1895.
The Montgomery and Grimbly windows are highly decorative. They were created with nearly 60 different colour tints, which were blended to create the final product. The centre main window bears the monograpm, S.A.M. (for 'South Australian Museum'), which is surrounded by original, hand-painted blue glass. The small decorative medallions, known as rondels, have been inserted into the border of the windows, creating a gem-like effect in the glass.
The Montgomery and Grimbly windows were temporarily removed during the upgrade of the North Wing's foyer in 1995-1996. During this time, some of the glass was replaced and the lead was completely redone. The windows were reinstalled in 1997 with a protective sheeting placed on the exterior wall to protect the windows.
It is best to view the Montgomery and Grimbly windows during the day, when the sunlight emphasises the beautiful colour choices of the stained glass artists.