Beehive Corner

Beehive Corner is arguably the most popular and well-recognised buildings in Adelaide. Its distinctive corner turret, showing the year of construction, is in the shape of a beehive. On top sits a lone gold bee.

A drapery shop known as the Beehive opened in the first building on the site on 3 October 1849. By that time, the corner was widely known as Beehive Corner. Architect Edmund Wright also occupied the building for some time. Later it became the office the Adelaide Times newspaper.

This building was constructed on the site between 1895 and 1896. Architects George Klewitz Soward and Thomas English designed it for the owner, Henry Martin. Martin also had the firm design the buildings attached to the Tavistock Hotel on Rundle Street. Martin never actually saw Beehive Corner or South Australia for himself - he had his affairs managed by agents based in the colony.

The Beehive Corner building draws on the Gothic Revival style, but reinterprets it. It has an unusual amount of detail, as shown by the corner turret.

Images

Beehive Corner, 1864

Beehive Corner, 1864

The former Beehive Corner building was modest compared to the 1890s structure. | Source: National Trust of South Australia Joyce Photographic Collection No 261 View File Details Page

A busy bee

A busy bee

The gilded bee and beehive, a nod to the original name of the corner, was a key feature of the building when it was constructed in 1895-1896. | Creator: Photograph by Jessica Cronin View File Details Page

Haigh's Chocolates

Haigh's Chocolates

Equally iconic to Beehive Corner, Haigh's Chocolates has had long associations with this building. Alfred Haigh opened his first chocolate store at 34 King William Street on 1 May 1915. | Creator: Photograph by Jessica Cronin View File Details Page

Cite this Page:

“Beehive Corner,” Adelaide City Explorer, accessed July 27, 2017, http://adelaidecityexplorer.com.au/items/show/65.
Trail navigation:  Previous | Trail Info | Next
comments powered by Disqus

Share this Story